Tahiti Travel Secrets

ia ora na!

Adven­tures are plen­ti­ful in the French Poly­ne­sian Islands. Bet­ter known by the name of its main island, Tahiti, French Poly­ne­sia is a mes­mer­iz­ing won­der­land of reef-fringed islands and translu­cent aqua lagoons. Tahiti cov­ers over two mil­lion square miles of the South Pacific Ocean and is com­prised of 118 islands spread over five great arch­i­pel­a­gos. Visu­al­ize an area as large as West­ern Europe yet the total land mass of all the islands adds up to an area only slightly larger than the tiny state of Rhode Island.


The three arch­i­pel­a­gos most sought by vis­i­tors are

♥ the Soci­ety Islands:  Tahiti, Moorea, Bora Bora, Huahine, Raiatea and Taha’a
♥ The Tuamotu Atolls include the atolls of Ran­giroa, Manihi, Tike­hau, and Fakar­ava
♥ Mar­que­sas, or “The Mys­te­ri­ous Islands.”



Most of the accom­mo­da­tion are on just three islands: Tahiti, Moorea and Bora Bora. The Tuamotu Group is pop­u­lar with scuba divers while The Mar­que­sas are for avid explor­ers and adventurers.

The two other arch­i­pel­a­gos, the Aus­tral Islands and the Gam­bier Islands, lie to the south and the south­east, respec­tively, of the Soci­ety Islands. While very few trav­el­ers ven­ture to these remote islands, those that do are not dis­ap­pointed by the pris­tine environment.

Make your travel plans now!

Permanent link to this article: http://tahititravelsecrets.com/